The Cavalier Daily
Serving the University Community Since 1890

Baseball seeks to batter North Carolina

The Virginia baseball team looks to improve on its seventh-place standing in the ACC in its three-game series against North Carolina this weekend.

The Cavs (17-23-1, 5-10 ACC) lost Wednesday to Virginia Tech in a 10-inning heartbreaker. Tech scored the winning run when relief pitcher Alexander Starr beaned Hokie batter Chad Foutz with the bases loaded.

North Carolina carries a seven-game win streak into the contest with Virginia. The No. 5 Tar Heels have built their run on victories over UNC-Charlotte and Maryland, who they pummeled 28-3 last Sunday. Streak aside, North Carolina still is searching for its first road victory of the season. North Carolina holds an all-time 152-82-4 advantage over Virginia.

"It's going to be a good series with a lot of close games," Virginia shortstop Tim LaVigne said. "We just have to do the little things that we didn't do [Wednesday] and get some clutch hits that we've been missing lately."

Set for flight

Virginia women's tennis players Jen Tuchand and Kelly Weaver have earned ACC Flight Champion honors for their outstanding regular season play. Tuchand, a freshman, and Weaver, a junior, tied for the team lead in singles victories with 23 apiece. Tuchland, who won at the No. 5 singles spot, posted a 70-percent winning percentage overall during the regular season, best on the team. Weaver, who took the No. 6 honor, boasts an impressive overall record of 23-13. She captained the team to a 13-9 record for the regular season.

Related Links
  • Cavalier Daily's expanded baseball coverage
  • Cavalier Daily's expanded men's tennis coverage
  • Cavalier Daily's expanded women's tennis coverage
  • Collegiate Baseball Newspaper

    The men's tennis team also garnered a handful of Flight Champion honors. Juniors Brian Vahaly and Brian Hunter won at the No. 1 and No. 5 singles, respectively, while senior John Winter and junior Tommy Croker took the award at the No. 2 doubles. For Winter and Croker, it was the second consecutive year they have received the honor.